plate announced

1. Can I keep my current RI License plate number?
Yes. When you switch to the R.I. Saltwater Anglers Foundation (Saltwater) plate, your current number is transferred to the new plate, as long as it is 5-digits/letters or less. Just think of it as ordering a new background design for your existing plate.

2. What if I currently have a 6-digit plate?
Because of the artwork (striped bass), the plate is restricted to 5 digits/letters or less.
You can request to change your 6-digit plate to 5 digits by going to the R.I. Division of Motor Vehicles. Bring your current plates with you and fill out Form TR-1. It will cost $22.50 for this change.
Read one member's experience at doing this

3. Can I get whatever number I want?
We can only issue plates that are currently active. As a group, we cannot grant anyone different plate numbers. Only the RI Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can do that. See #2 above.

4. I have a commercial plate, can I get a Saltwater plate?
No other types of plates will be available. Only "passenger" plates are eligible.

5. My plate has 5 digits/letters, but there is a dash in the middle. Does the dash count as a digit?
No, a dash does not count as a digit.

6. How much is the Saltwater plate and where does the money go?
For a set of two plates, the cost is $42.50 and is distributed this way: The R.I. Saltwater Anglers Foundation collects the money for the plate with payment made out to "R.I. Saltwater Anglers Foundation." $20 of the order will go to the Rhode Island Saltwater Anglers Foundation* and $22.50 will go to the state to make the plate.

*The Rhode Island Saltwater Anglers Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit and $20 of your payment is considered a donation and a tax deduction.
**Find out more about the Rhode Island Saltwater Anglers Foundation and what they do.

7. Do I get charged every year for the new plate?
The $20.00 you pay towards the Saltwater plate is the initial payment you will have to make to the Rhode Island Saltwater Anglers Foundation. Upon registration renewal, there will be a $10 surcharge which will continue to support the Rhode Island Saltwater Anglers Foundation.

8. When can I expect to receive my plate?
We're required to sell a minimum of 600 plates before the plates will be made. As soon as the 600 orders are received, the funds will be turned over to the DMV to begin making/issuing the plates. You will be notified when this happens. In the meantime, your money will be held in an escrow account until such time as the order is placed.

*In the unlikely event that 600 plates are not sold, you will receive a full refund.

9. How long will you be selling the Saltwater plates?
The Saltwater Anglers Foundation Plate program should be in place for years to come.

10. Do I have to live in Rhode Island to get a Saltwater Anglers Foundation plate?
You must already have a Rhode Island registered car in order to get a Saltwater plate.

11. I collect old license plates, can I keep my old ones?
No, by Rhode Island law, in order to receive your new Saltwater plates, the DMV must be presented the two plates that are currently on your car. If you only have one plate to turn over to the DMV when you are picking up the Saltwater plate, in lieu of the plate you must have a police report for a stolen or missing plate or fill out the DMV's "Affidavit for Cancellation of Registration for Lost Plates".

12. Do I have to pick my plates up at the DMV?
The initial 600 plate recipients will be contacted via mail when their plates arrive, along with details on the pick-up location. Thereafter, all Saltwater plates must be picked up at the DMV. Plate pick-up will only take about 5 minutes.

13. I'd like to get a vanity plate. Can you help me with this?
Our role is to simply replace your existing plate with a new background. If you'd like to change your current registration, you must contact the DMV directly or go to their website ( Once you change your existing registration to the one you desire, then you can order a Saltwater plate.

14. My registration expires in July every other year. If I get the plate in June, do I have to register the car again in July?
Think of buying the Saltwater plate as simply replacing the look of your current one. We have nothing to do with the registration of your car, and if you get a new Saltwater plate in June it will come with a sticker that has the July expiration sticker on it. You will have to pay for the new registration extension for the next two years as yours expires. Whatever the expiration date sticker which is currently on your plate will still be the expiration date of your car.

15. Can I keep my current "vanity" plate/numbers?
Yes, but only if the plate has five digits/numbers or less.

Please Note. We recognize that it will take some time to collect 600 orders before you will receive your plate, and we appreciate your patience with this process.


Copyright © Rhode Island Saltwater Anglers Association 2018-2020. All rights reserved.